top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

Consuming fire

Hebrews 12:29

“For our God is a consuming fire.”


“I was starting to get cold! That fire just about wasn’t enough.”

“Well, you should’ve gotten closer to the fire, instead of standing around talking.”

As soon as Ryan finished his sentence, the Lord began reminding me of how often I do that, spiritually.

I blame the fire and claim it’s not enough instead  of getting closer to the fire.

Last night, the fire was doing everything it was supposed to, but I wasn’t doing my part.

I recognized the coldness in me.

But I never moved closer.

Why?

Because I was staying where I could talk to other people. I was letting someone else be the standard. I mean, we were all close to the fire! But close doesn’t equal close enough.

Most of us fear the heat and the impurities it may burn off.

If you’re cold, it’s not the fire’s fault.

It’s burning, doing exactly what it has always done.

You’re the one who refuses to move closer because of what it may cost you.

There will always be a group around the fire who consider that close enough. They’re associated with the fire, we know they’re their fort there fire, but they’re still very cold in many parts of their life.

The closer you get to the fire, the thinner the crowd gets. But the more of effects of the fire you experience.

It’s hard to say that you’re effected by the fire when you limit how much of your life it has access to.


Our God is a consuming fire.

Which means ALL of you, should be consumed by him, not just the parts that are “enough.”

I can’t complain about the effects of the fire or lack thereof, when I am the one who go refuses to move any closer, all in the name of “enough.”

If you’re dissatisfied with the fire, it’s NEVER the fire who has changed or isn’t doing enough.

The fire is constant.

You are the variable.

You are the issue.

Address it.

Further up and further in.

The fire is still hot, the fire is still doing EVERYTHING it has always done.

Move in closer.

He is waiting on you!

4 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page