top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

Getting rid of what’s dead

Ecclesiastes 10:1

“Dead flies cause the ointment of the apothecary to send forth a stinking savour: so doth a little folly him that is in reputation for wisdom and honour.”


All it takes is one dead fly to ruin it all.

Recently, as the temperatures outside began to drop, some of the insects from outside began to try to find their way inside.

As I reached for my coffee that I had left on the counter, I was repulsed to find a fly in it. I had made that coffee well. Each ingredient was added and mixed perfectly. But removing the fly and continuing on with my coffee was not an option to me. It had tainted the entire cup.

It wasn’t a swarm of flies.

It was simply one.

One made me throw out the entire cup.

As I’ve been thinking about a brand new year, the Lord brought that one fly back to my mind, over and over again.

We all have hopes and dreams and things we want to accomplish in a new year. But how many will go into this year with the best intentions and a dead fly?

You can have everything in order, but that dead fly will ruin it all every time. That ointment of the apothecary was full of oils, herbs, and spices that made it fragrant. But that one dead fly ruined the whole thing.

Your dead fly may be bitterness, pride, selfishness, unbelief, laziness, or a host of other things. And it will kill your fragrance every time.

You will never be effective until you choose to deal with your dead fly.

You can have everything in order, and the dead fly in your life will stink up everything.

Your home.

Your marriage.

Your relationships.

Your church.

Your Sunday school class.

And so on.

It’s time to clear out what’s dead.

Don’t let one dead fly stink up your whole year.

Deal with what’s dead.

We are to walk in LIGHT and LIFE.

Not stink up everything around us with a dead fly we refuse to deal with.


5 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page