top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

Live like the veil is torn

Ephesians 2:13-14

“But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.

For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us;”

The torn veil fascinates me.

It’s beautiful.

It’s welcoming.

Torn from top to bottom.

No one else could’ve torn that barrier.

No one else could’ve reached it.

No one else would’ve been strong enough.

The veil was 70 feet wide, 30 feet tall, and 4 inches thick. 300 priests had to work together to hang it, according to Jewish tradition.

And God tore it two with one stroke, as Jesus cried, “IT IS FINISHED.”

God himself destroyed the barrier between himself and humanity, because the price had been paid.

Awe and amazement must have struck the priests as they heard and saw the stroke of God tearing the veil in half. The Holy of Holies stood wide open before all the priests as if to bid them to enter in…a privilege no priest except the high priest had enjoyed since the very beginning of the tabernacle fifteen centuries years earlier. Now all could enter.

The day Jesus died was the final day of atonement.

The price was paid in full.

No more sacrifices.

The torn veil invited us all in.

Invited us all to know him.

To kneel before his holiness.

No more intervention of earthly priesthood.

All because of one spotless offering of atonement.

But do I live like the veil is torn?

Or do I wait on someone else to go into his presence for me?

Do I wait on the preacher to go to God for me?

Do I wait on my husband to do it for me?

Do I wait on a friend, a parent, a Sunday school teacher to go to God for me?

Do I take responsibility for the royal priesthood that I have been adopted in to, because of Christ? Or am I waiting for someone to take up my slack?

Have I been in the Holy place?

Or have I stayed on the wrong side of a torn veil, all because I loved unholiness more than the holiness on the other side?

The veil was torn to openly invite us all to know him, one on one.

Yet how many reject that offering?

How many of us accept him as a Savior, yet reject the offering to enter the holy place?

What a privilege to be brought nigh by the blood, yet I treat it so casually.

Jesus was separated from his Father, totally and completely alone, so that you could enter in.

The Father turned his back, on his Son in AGONY, for you.

So that you could have access.

It’s time to live like the veil is torn.

It’s time to enter into the Holy place.

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page