top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

Show the Lord You’re Serious

I wonder if Hannah left the temple that day and went straight home and began to prepare for a baby?

I’m sure people shook their heads in pity, “She’s gone off the deep end now, barren means barren…it’s final.”

Maybe they saw her making baby clothes and blankets, maybe Peninnah scoffed at her as the tiny clothes piled up with no baby to wear them yet.

I can just hear Hannah whisper, “The Lord won’t forget me.”

She prepared for a baby, because that’s what she prayed for, that’s what she begged for, and she knew God was going to answer.

Sometimes you step out on faith, and show the Lord your serious. With every stitch in baby clothes, she was clinging to the promise of the Lord.

Sometimes when we pray, that’s the end of it. We don’t prepare for the answer.

Last night, I went to the mall, walked through TJ Maxx, and saw this blanket. Immediately I felt tears pushing behind my eyes when I saw the rainbows all over it. Rainbows have ALWAYS signified God keeping his promises. Our culture has tried to hijack that precious symbol and twist and warp it so that when you see it, God is the farthest thing from your mind.

But that’s another topic for another day.

I walked past the blanket, left it hanging, and went on. But when I woke up this morning, it was the first thing I thought of. The Lord said “2 farmers prayed for rain, but which one believed that it was coming? The one who prepared his fields for it.”

So I went back, and there the blanket hung, all out of place between pink ones and blue ones, as if no one else could take it home but me.

I made a move, by faith, trusting that the Lord will hear me and answer my prayer. He did it for Hannah, why wouldn’t he do it for me?

I don’t know what you’re praying for, I don’t know what kind of burdens you’re carrying, but the Lord may be waiting on you to take a step of faith, show him your serious, and prepare for rain. It’s time to get serious about your prayers. Hannah was desperate for an answer, and would not be satisfied until her prayer was answered. And I won’t either. And neither should you.

1 Samuel 1:12

“And she vowed a vow, and said, O Lord of hosts, if thou wilt indeed look on the affliction of thine handmaid, and remember me, and not forget thine handmaid, but wilt give unto thine handmaid a man child, then I will give him unto the Lord all the days of his life, and there shall no razor come upon his head.”

11 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page