top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

The Empty Spaces

Empty places.

I think that’s one of the things that stings the most. Looking at family pictures and you are missing.

Going to the grocery store, and your hand is missing from mine as we cross the parking lot.

The places at the table, where you should sit and giggle, are silent and empty.

Would you look like me? Or your daddy?

Would your eyes squint when you smiled?

I feel you missing every day, and it breaks my heart. Because you would’ve added so much beauty and joy to this world.

I’ve wondered, as I’ve walked through this maze of empty places, if maybe God wasn’t as good as I thought.

Maybe he was cruel sometimes.

Why would he give to just snatch away?

But over and over, I am reminded that he is good. Not everything that happens, in this broken world, is good. But if I will give him the brokenness, he can work it together for good.

He will fill the empty places.

Grow gardens of beauty and goodness in those quiet moments that should be filled with laughter and playing.

If I lose the confidence that he is GOOD, then my empty places just stay empty. Because if I’m bitter at the One who gives and takes away, then there is no potential for the empty places.

They just stay empty.

They stay jagged and broken.

And the little ones that dwell safely in his presence, have to watch as I waste the life that they did live, even if it was but for a moment.

The empty places sting.

But beautiful things can come out of empty places. Look at the tomb that Jesus laid in. Life arose from an empty place.

And life will arise from yours.

It’s hard to trust, when the empty space tries to be louder than his voice.

But he is good.

And he will be faithful.

He sent those little ones for a reason.

And they are worshiping him, in his perfect glory.

So I will worship him here, in the empty spaces, because he gave me the opportunity to carry a little one for his glory, even if I must worship him in the empty spaces now.

10 views0 comments

Commentaires

Les commentaires n'ont pas pu être chargés.
Il semble qu'un problème technique est survenu. Veuillez essayer de vous reconnecter ou d'actualiser la page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page