top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

The House of God

Matthew 21:12-13

“And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves,

And said unto them, It is written, My house shall be called the house of prayer; but ye have made it a den of thieves.”


Jesus had to clean house to be welcome in his own house.

He knew, that his choice to disrupt the money changers, wouldn’t be popular. But he didn’t come to be popular.

So, he took a stand.

He set the standard for his house, to be called a house of prayer. And he drove out those who would make it anything LESS.


Don’t make Jesus have to drive you out to be welcome in his own house.

Don’t make Jesus have to flip your table, before he can use your church.

Don’t make Jesus have to clean you OUT before he is free to move.


I don’t ever want to make God’s house a place where he is not welcome. I can think of several instances where the Lord has moved people out of the church, and it absolutely broke our hearts. But, the Lord was free to move again.

I don’t want to bind his hands.

His house is to be a house of prayer, what am I making it? Am I living to that standard? Or am I making his house something it was never supposed to be?

I cringe to think of the times that I have gone to church out of obligation or for some other reason other than Him. I cringe to think at the times I have hindered Jesus from moving in his own house.

Don’t be what Jesus has to drive out, because you’ve made him unwelcome in his own house.

3 views0 comments

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page