top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Trent

What she could

Mark 14:8

“She hath done what she could: she is come aforehand to anoint my body to the burying.”

I want to hear that after, “well done” when I meet Jesus.

She hath done what she could.

But have I really?

Or have I just done what was enough?

Just enough to tell myself that I have done what I could?

We live in a culture that tells us that we can have church on a Sunday morning drive, that morality is enough to claim salvation, an Instagram bio with a Bible verse is enough of a public statement of faith.

We are constantly told the lie that modesty is legalism, we should have Jesus and no commandments, accountability is church hurt, and you don’t have to “go that far” to be saved.

There will be many who meet Jesus, thinking they have known him their whole life, only to find they were deceived by the god of this world.

There will be others, who meet Jesus, and realize that they bought into the lie that they had done enough. There will be no crowns to cast at his feet. Because they never left what was comfortable to them. They never grew past a babe in Christ.

But there will be a small remnant of those who “did what they could.” They are likely those who have been mocked for their stand, but they stood anyway. This world will attempt to slap labels on them, to discredit them and their testimony, but they will continue to do what is right. These will be the good and faithful servants, these will be the ones who hear “well done.”

You have to decide for yourself, if you will “do what you could.” Or if you will do enough to get by. It doesn’t matter what this world tells you is “enough.” Does his word say so?

Will you truly be satisfied with standing before the Lord and saying “I did enough?”

I have a long way to go before I can say, “I have done what I could.”

But I’m still going to press toward the mark.

Because enough is not enough for the One who died for me.

Call me what you will, whatever label you feel appropriate, I am just seeking to do what I can, as Mary did.

5 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page